01/14/15 Saint Basil the Great

Hello again everyone. I hope you all had a great Wednesday. We had a lot of fun today with school, and with play. You know, sometimes you just get so busy doing “mom” things that you forget to just leave the dishes in the sink and get down on the floor to play with your children. That is the best kind of fun, and if you don’t do it, you are missing out. Today was a reminder for me that I need to make sure to really PLAY with my children EVERY DAY. They are growing up fast and I want to try my best not to miss it. Let the laundry be for a while, the dishes will get done, just play with your kids!

IMG_0919 IMG_0146

This week, our Circle Time/Finger Play activities are:

  • My Cross
  • Brush Your Teeth
  • Down By the Bay
  • Baa Baa Black Sheep
  • The More We Get Together
  • Mr Sun

For our Saint’s Life today we learned about Saint Basil the Great. There are so many things that we could have talked about regarding Saint Basil, but I really wanted to focus in on a story in particular. One time when Saint Basil was protecting the people in his Church and city from an attack, he asked of the people to bring any of their valuable possessions to the Church in hopes that they could pay the attackers to leave them be. To make a long story short, they ended up not needing to spend the valuables because the Mother of God protected them from the attack. However, the people decided to leave their valuables with the Church as a gift of thanksgiving. Saint Basil wanted to return one-third of it, and knowing that the people would not take their valuables back, he found another way to return some of their things. He had some of the workers, in the poor house that he built, bake loaves of bread, and in each loaf he had them place a jewel, or a coin. Then, he distributed the loaves to all of the people and they received a portion of their gift back.

th-18

For our “Pre-Writing Activity” we made a paper-chain out of “Frozen” water bottle wrappers. Theia got the idea, but I had to help her quite a bit with this because she wanted to close the two ends together instead of placing one end on top of the other. It was still a lot of fun. 🙂

IMG_0918

For our other activity we made Vasilopita, or Saint Basil’s Bread. The tradition is to place a coin inside the bread, but because both my girls are still young I did not do this. I didn’t want them to accidentally choke! Next year we will. 🙂

IMG_0920

I hope you all have a wonderful evening. I will let you know how our day goes tomorrow!

In Christ,

D. Kyriake

Leave a comment